wiring multiple 12v plugs

aeo

Let me preface this with I'm new to electrical work, as well as the rest of the things I attempt on the truck.

I want to wire in a few 12v/usb plugs in one area. I have 3 plugs and they each have a fused + and a separate - wire. I'd like to just have 1 + and 1 - wire to connect to the fuse panel. How do I streamline the wiring on the back of the outlets?

Thanks,
Alex

The_Vermonster

You want to avoid daisy-chaining the outlets. That will be wiring the sockets in series, which means you will experience voltage drop. Basically the first outlet takes the power it needs and lets the excess pass to the next outlet. As you go down the wire, you will have access to less and less voltage. The only safe way to do this is to have a single positive power 2 USB, as they are generally limited to 5v. That gives more than enough spare power for two full power devices.

The right way would be to run a larger wire then have it split to the smaller wires going to each outlet. That keeps the outlets in parallel.

This is a decent write up about circuits http://www.pirate4x4.com/tech/billavista/Wiring/Part1/ Scroll down about half way to the Practical Circuits section.

aeo

Thanks for the link, that is a nice and concise write up.

Now, I obviously need to do this in parallel and not series. Is my best bet to put an aux fuse block near the outlets and then I just have my two wires to the main fuse box, or should I go with a distribution block? I'd like them to be switched.

Thanks,
Alex

rlynch356

I would use a relay for switched power and run that to a fuse block then to the outlets.
The switched pwr wires in the truck are pretty small 16g or so and if used for anything other than triggering a relay can quickly get over whelmed (been there)
I just installed a 12gang blue sea fur box in the battery compartment (all hot) and use a positive stud mount for the lights all have relays.
For 3 12v sources I would try to out on a 10-12g main wire.

The Dro