NAS-ROW - The Land Rover Defender Forum  

Go Back   NAS-ROW - The Land Rover Defender Forum > NAS-ROW Technical Forums > Defender Technical Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2017, 11:48 AM   #11
Al Blue4.6l
Member
 
Al Blue4.6l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: VA
Posts: 78
Thanks: 27
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamSanta85 View Post
Here is what I have currently. I also have a 3 gauge SDO pod to go where the wiper/power stuff is in which I will install EGT, move the boost, and then either volt/oil pressure/clock. I will put a tach where my boost currently is.

I also put green LED's in the gauges. Part number WLED-G4 from Egauges.
thanks

how do you like the green LEDs?
Al Blue4.6l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 12:25 PM   #12
DefendersNW
Senior Member
 
DefendersNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Posts: 312
Thanks: 77
Thanked 106 Times in 78 Posts
Member Trucks
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RBBailey View Post
This brings up a good question: The lights that come with the instruments come with either red or green shades to put over the light to tint them. Have any of you left the shade off?
Running LED w/o any shades - just easier to see all the way around.
DefendersNW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 12:59 PM   #13
AdamSanta85
Senior Member
 
AdamSanta85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 610
Thanks: 323
Thanked 98 Times in 85 Posts
Member Trucks
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Blue4.6l View Post
thanks

how do you like the green LEDs?
Very nice, bright. Very green. If I get bored I will swap them out to maybe white or blue next but for now I am really happy.
AdamSanta85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 03:03 PM   #14
Airbalancer
Member
 
Airbalancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Western Mass
Posts: 39
Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Here's a pic using the green shade that comes with the gauges.

Airbalancer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 10:56 PM   #15
nas90tdi
Senior Member
 
nas90tdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Camano Island WA
Posts: 313
Thanks: 25
Thanked 63 Times in 49 Posts
Member Trucks
Default

I have never actually used them. I like the brighter lights. No more trying to figure out what your gauges say in the dark.
nas90tdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 09:34 PM   #16
Al Blue4.6l
Member
 
Al Blue4.6l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: VA
Posts: 78
Thanks: 27
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by javelinadave View Post
If you contact VDO I believe they will set your odometer to the correct reading for your vehicle.
anyone have additional info on how this works?
Al Blue4.6l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 08:31 AM   #17
Al Blue4.6l
Member
 
Al Blue4.6l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: VA
Posts: 78
Thanks: 27
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Blue4.6l View Post
anyone have additional info on how this works?
I sent a message to VDO and got the following response:

When you order through the Vendor just ask them to have the mileage programmed on. When they in turn order it from us we will program the gauge for them.
Al Blue4.6l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 11:33 AM   #18
AdamSanta85
Senior Member
 
AdamSanta85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 610
Thanks: 323
Thanked 98 Times in 85 Posts
Member Trucks
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Blue4.6l View Post
I sent a message to VDO and got the following response:

When you order through the Vendor just ask them to have the mileage programmed on. When they in turn order it from us we will program the gauge for them.
Damn. I wish I knew that. I just saved my old one as proof of original milage. I assumed when setting up the odometer it was going to ask my to input the original milage, but it didn't.
AdamSanta85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 06:12 PM   #19
Al Blue4.6l
Member
 
Al Blue4.6l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: VA
Posts: 78
Thanks: 27
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by javelinadave View Post
Hall effect sensor - YBE100530
Plug for hall effect sensor - STC4637 (brake light plug)
so are these needed or would they already be installed?
Al Blue4.6l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 06:18 PM   #20
javelinadave
Administrator
 
javelinadave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 951
Thanks: 396
Thanked 260 Times in 160 Posts
Member Trucks
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Blue4.6l View Post
so are these needed or would they already be installed?
If you have a 1997 or later truck they will already be there. Before that the speedo used a spinning cable inside a sheath so you need the other parts in addition to the speedo.
__________________
:O [==] O:
javelinadave is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to javelinadave For This Useful Post:
Al Blue4.6l (02-06-2017)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

» Log in
User Name Not a member yet?
Register Now!
Password
» Today's Birthdays
None
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Release Candidate 2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.